The Easy Way to Get a Florida Real Estate License

The first thing you have to do if you want to get a Florida real estate license is to apply for a license at the Department of Business and Professional Regulation in Tallahassee. The easiest way to do this is to go to their website. There is a $105 fee to the state of Florida for this application. You can find a link to their website from my website. Next you have to get your state required electronic fingerprints done. When you apply for your Florida license, the DBPR ( Department of Business and Professional Regulation ) will tell you where to get that done. There is a $56 fee for fingerprinting. It takes about three weeks for your application to be approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission.

In the meantime, while you are waiting to be approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission, you have to take a sixty three hour course from a Florida school. The name of that course is FREC course I.

If you already have an active real estate license in another state, you could take FREC course II (Broker’s course) and get your broker’s license instead of your sales associate license. Florida recognizes the education of nine states which means if you have a license in Georgia, Alabama, Tennessee, Indiana, Mississippi, Arkansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma or Connecticut, you do not have to take FREC course I. However you do have to pass a forty question test on Florida laws and you cannot be a Florida resident.

You do not have to be a Florida resident to get a Florida license nor do you have to be a U.S. citizen. A Social Security number is required by the Florida Real Estate Commission. You have to be at least eighteen years old.

You can take FREC course I in a classroom or you can take it online from a Florida permitted school. There are lots of schools that advertise Florida courses but they do not have a Florida permit to operate a school. If you spend your money and take their course, you are wasting your time and money because they can not give you a certificate to get into the Florida real estate exam. You have to pass FREC course I before you can take the Florida exam. Be sure, be certain, be positive, that the school you choose has a Florida permit. Florida permits begin with the letters ZH. Most real schools post their ZH number on the home page of their website, You can verify this with the DBPR in Tallahassee. Check the Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s website.

If you take a classroom class, check out the instructor.Ask around.Don’t ask around about schools.Ask about the instructor.Some real estate schools will not tell you who the instructor is going to be because they know Mr. Boring is going to bore you for sixty three hours and maybe not teach you what is on the Florida exam.The state wide pass rate for the Florida real estate exam is about 54%for first time takers and 33% for re takers.Pick a good school and a good instructor. Ask around It costs $31 every time you take the Florida exam.

If you take an on line course be certain they have a Florida permit.Do not get ripped off by a gypsy school with no Florida permit. If a school offers a refund if you fail the Florida real estate exam,beware.It is unlawful for a Florida real estate school to offer a refund if you fail.

If a school charges tution more than $220,shop around. Many schools try to sell you courses that are not required by the state of Florida.Just take what is required. Many websites offer study aids.Wait until you get to class before you start wasting money on stuff you may not need.